Saturday , September 19 2020

Astrology Basics 101 – Sun, Ascendant and Moon

By Kaye Berjot –

It’s hard to believe that it has been 20 years since I was first introduced to astrology. It has been a useful tool for me in my life and has allowed me to learn more and more about myself every day. Since your astrological chart is uniquely designed for you and is specific to your birth date, time and location of birth, it can be very helpful to know what you’re looking for. I believe it to be a useful tool for all of us and can be a great complement to any self-awareness practice that you might undertake on your road to self-discovery.

Astrology consists of many different components, and there are different types of astrology such as Chinese, Vedic and Western. It’s important to note that planets, signs, houses, aspects and transits are the basic fundamentals of astrology, regardless of modality.

Since our charts are made up of several aspects, knowing what to look for in your own chart can seem challenging. It is for this reason that we are kicking off a series of articles to help our readers understand the basics of Western Astrology. The goal is for you to be able to easily apply astrological principles into your own regimen.

The only way that I know to explain the basics to you is by calling upon my experiences and using tips that my teachers have shared with me. I learned by first understanding the importance of the Sun, the Ascendant and the Moon. So I am beginning with those.


The sun sign is the sign that we are most familiar with, and oftentimes the sign that we read about in journals, magazines and blog posts. So when you get a new “app” on your phone or subscribe to a web feed, it’s usually to look up your sun sign. Sometimes the horoscope written for that sign will seem to apply to you, and sometimes it doesn’t seem to apply. There are reasons for that, and we will get to those later on within the article.

Sun signs are divided based upon the solar transit, which occurs on a monthly basis. This transit occurs every 28-31 days. The glyph or symbol for the sun is a circle with a dot in it. This is useful to know if you are going to look up your own astrology chart.

Your sun sign is your individuality. It is who you are and what you aspire to be. In essence, it is where we want our light to shine and is at the core of our being. Therefore, we are continuously aspiring to stand in our own light because it is our own light that we identify with.

The sun is the natural ruler of Leo. So if you have met any Leo personalities during your lifetime, you will know exactly what I’m referring to. They are big; they are beautiful; they are bright. They light up the environment for the entire world to see. So when you look at your sun sign recognize that it’s the light that you want everyone to see, and it’s what you are offering to yourself and to your environment.


An astrology chart is divided up into quadrants (four equally distributed parts). Each quadrant means something different. The bottom half of the chart represents the self on the earthly plane, and the top half represents the higher self. Each half has two quadrants.

You may also hear astrologers refer to the ascendant as the “rising sign.” The ascendant represents our natural reaction to events and can also be defined as the mask that we wear in public. It is usually the way that everyone sees us. Therefore, you might have a Leo sun sign, but everyone may see you as demonstrating characteristics of an Aries. You might even have a tendency to socialize with Aries individuals because it’s your “go-to sign”. In a nutshell, you identify with it and because you identify you attract.

Why is it important to also look at your ascendant sign when reading horoscopes? I think it’s important because it is one of the tools that you have in your toolbox and represents your natural characteristics that come easily and effortlessly to you. In my opinion, it’s best to know what tools you have prior to going out and acquiring the same tool repeatedly. So if you’ve got it, use it.



Every month we receive two wonderful opportunities to look at our moon, during the New Moon and the Full Moon. If you feel inspired or need to let go of energies, it usually takes place around this time.

The glyph for the Moon is a crescent, and it represents your feelings, emotions and intuition. It rules the sign of Cancer and much like a crab (the symbol for Cancer) has a tough exterior to protect the most sensitive sides of us.

Your Moon sign and placement represents how you deal with your emotions. An Aries moon might choose to forgo emotions by concentrating on moving forward while a Libra Moon may choose to balance out emotions by weighing all sides. The placement of your Moon sign can give you indications of how you express and protect your feelings. It’s very similar to having an intuitive autopilot that’s always with you and doing the best that it can to ensure your emotional safety.


When looking at your horoscope I suggest that you look at the horoscope for all three signs. The Sun sign will tell you what is occurring, the Ascendant will tell you how it is being presented, and the Moon sign will give you an indication of how you feel about what’s occurring. In the next article, we will discuss all 12 signs and how they work together in your chart. Each sign has a motto and serves to pass on a message to the next sign, so it’s good to know how they work individually as well as within a group.

See you next month!

Kaye Berjot is a transformational astrologer located in Little Rock, AR. If you would like guidance through a reading of your chart please contact her at

Please follow and like us:
Visit Us
Follow Me

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.